Asbestos Abatement License

Asbestos Abatement Licenses are regulated in most States.

An asbestos abatement license is required for contractors that handle asbestos. The state department or the contractors board is responsible for regulating and providing licensing for asbestos contractors and asbestos consultants.

Among others, the following activities and facilities are regulated:

  • Milling of asbestos
  • Commercial manufacturing of products that contain commercial asbestos
  • Demolition of all facilities, even though it may not contain asbestos
  • Renovation of facilities that contain friable asbestos-containing materials
  • Spraying of asbestos-containing materials
  • Processing (fabricating) of any manufactured products that contain asbestos
  • Use of insulating materials that contain commercial asbestos
  • Disposal of asbestos-containing waste generated during milling, manufacturing, renovation, demolition, spraying, and fabricating operations
  • Active waste disposal sites
  • Closure and maintenance of inactive waste disposal sites
  • Operation of and reporting on facilities that convert asbestos-containing waste material into non-asbestos material
  • Design and operation of air cleaning devices
  • Reporting of information pertaining to process control equipment, filter devices, asbestos generating process, etc.

These states required an Asbestos Abatement License:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology
  • Delaware Division of Facilities Management
  • Florida
  • Georgia Environmental Protection Division
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • Florida
  • Arizona

Alabama Asbestos Contractor Accreditation Program

Accreditation is required by the Alabama Department of Environmental Management (ADEM) to perform asbestos-related activities within the state. State and federal laws require accreditation in all other related disciplines.

Arizona Department of Environmental Quality

The purpose of the Asbestos National Emission Standard for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP) Program is to protect public health from exposure to regulated asbestos-containing material (RACM) during NESHAP facility renovation/demolition activities, asbestos removal, transport and disposal, by closely monitoring those activities for proper notification and asbestos emissions control. Asbestos is known to cause cancer and respiratory diseases in humans.